Authors Spotlight: Derek Wilson

Thomas Treviot Tales : The First Horseman by D.K.Wilson



In the pre-dawn of a misty November morning, Thomas Packington, one of London’s leading citizens, was shot and killed as he made his way across Cheapside to attend early mass. No-one was ever brought to book for this crime, the earliest assassination with a firearm in British history.


Thomas Treviot is a young London goldsmith and a close family friend of Robert Packington. Through his own upstanding social connections (and some less upstanding acquaintances he has made along the way), Thomas launches a dramatic investigation into Packington’s death.As Thomas searches for revenge, he must travel from the golden heart of merchant London to the straw-covered backstreets of its poorest districts before reaching the country’s seat of power: the court of King Henry VIII. There he is drawn into a dark conspiracy beyond his wildest imaginings, and claiming justice for his friend starts to look impossible. Especially when Thomas realises that Robert wasn’t the man he thought he knew …

order via Amazon click here

Top Customer Reviews

By Valerie Gail bartlett TOP 500 REVIEWER on 6 Nov. 2015

A fabulous read i enjoyed this book greatly Before dawn on a misty November morning in 1536, prominent mercer Robert Packington was gunned down as he crossed Cheapside on his way to early morning mass. It was the first assassination by handgun in the history of the capital and subsequently shook the city to its core.
The identity of his assassin has remained a mystery.
In the first of a new series investigating real unsolved Tudor crimes, D.K. Wilson brings the streets of Tudor London to spectacular life as Thomas Treviot faces a fight to bring the truth to light in the corrupt world of Anne Boleyn, Thomas Cromwell and Henry VIII.

Thomas Treviot Tales : The Traitor’s Mark by D.K.Wilson



In the autumn of 1543, Hans Holbein, the leading European portrait painter, disappeared in London. What happened to him remains a mystery. At the same time a plot was afoot to bring down Thomas Cranmer, Archbishop of Canterbury. Were these events linked?


Thomas Treviot is again plunged into the murky world of Tudor politics and religion when his friend, Hans Holbein, disappears and his assistant, Bart Miller, is charged with murder. Thomas and friends who will be familiar to readers of The First Horseman are drawn into the political world of a sick and unstable Henry VIII and a nation torn apart by ruthless, rival factions determined to shape England’s identity. Publication 14 March 2015. Available as ebook now.

order via Amazon click here

Top Customer Reviews

I read this back to back with D K Wilson’s first novel based on real unsolved crimes in Henry VIII’s England and although I enjoyed “The First Horseman” a tad more his second “The Traitor’s Mark” was a worthy follow up. The author is adept at painting social conditions of his period and against this background draws an engrossing and colourful tale. The fictitious characters mix well with those based in history in this easy read.
Well D. K. Wilson has done it again a fabulous book full of twists and turns well rounded characters and a good sense of time and place. The author fits a lot into his stories by leaving out a lot of unnecessary description, and I’m still loving the novel idea of setting each story against a backdrop of a real unsolved mystery.
My only worry is that a lot of time has pasted between book one and book two in the series, so I hope the author is not going to run out of time to do his hero justice.
So please Mr Wilson write another book soon with a much shorter interval in the story.

Thomas Treviot Tales : The Devil’s Chalice by D.K.Wilson


In the hot summer of 1549 two men were locked up in the Tower of London – one for the attempted murder of his uncle, the other for practising necromancy. Meanwhile England’s second city, Norwich, is in the hands of rebels.


Thomas Treviot is sent by Archbishop Cranmer to interview one of the Tower prisoners to discover his connections with leading courtiers. But Thomas has problems of his own: his teenage son has gone to Norwich to join the rebels. Thomas is pitchforked into a world of malevolent magic and political chicanery.

order via Amazon click here

Top Customer Reviews

Derek Wilson (also known as D.K. Wilson) has become a popular name throughout readers of both non-fiction and historical fiction. He has written many history books on the 16th century over his 45-year career, but he has recently branched out into fiction. His Thomas Treviot series is unique in the fact that they use real Tudor crime records and the author constantly strives to be as accurate as possible. The Devil’s Chalice is the third book in this series, however, as each book is on a different case, they do not have to be read in order. When details from the other books are mentioned (which is rare), Wilson helpfully refers to a footnote in which he briefly explains it.

Wilson’s words have an authentic feel to them; none of the language or descriptions seemed out of place, which helped me fully immerse myself in the story and Edward VI’s reign. His knowledge of the subject is shown throughout and the inclusion of a historical note at the end was reassuring, it is good to see where authors get their facts from and how they form their conclusions. Due to how realistic it feels and Wilson’s ability to turn real historical facts into a good story, I would recommend this to anyone wanting to read a historical and/or crime novel.

The Devil’s Chalice is the third in a series of novels that introduces the reader to real unsolved crimes from the Tudor period and then explores a version of events that involves our fictional hero Thomas Treviot with some of the major political characters and events of the time. The first title investigates the first murder using a hand gun in England, the second the mystery surrounding the death of Hans Holbein. The Devil’s Chalice involves the imprisonment in the Tower of London of two men at the time of Kett’s Rebellion. Wilson has obviously deep knowledge of the era and evokes the period very convincingly, introducing the reader to the sights, smells, traditions, language and real fear that people felt at such a revolutionary period in English history.

About The Author : Derek K. Wilson

derek wilson

D.K. Wilson is an historian and expert on the Tudor period. He is the author of the Tudor mystery novels ‘The First Horseman’ and ‘The Traitor’s Mark’, both of which star a young goldsmith called Thomas Treviot.

As Derek Wilson, he has published a range of acclaimed non-fiction books on Tudor England and Henry VIII, including ‘The Plantagenets: The Kings that Made Britain’ and ‘The English Reformation: How England was Transformed by the Tudors’.

To visit Derek Wilson blog click here

follow Derek Wilson on Twitter click here

For other works by Derek Wilson click here


One thought on “Authors Spotlight: Derek Wilson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s