Authors Spotlight: D.E.Haggerty

Self Serve Murder (Death by Cupcake; series 3) by D.E.Haggerty

self-serve-murder_cover

Book 3 in the Death by Cupcake series. Can be read as a standalone.

Kristie is kind with a capital K, so it’s quite the surprise when she wakes up next to a dead man with no recollection of the previous night. Even worse? She’s naked. Kristie may be a sweetheart out to save the world, but sticking her nose into an investigation of rapes across campus makes her the target of a murderer. Before she knows it, Callie is smack dab in the middle of a murder investigation with her colleagues Callie and Anna. If that’s not enough to drive a sane person up the wall, a friend has decided he’s going to keep her safe whether she wants him to or not. And, oh yeah, he’s her man and that’s that.

Come join us at Callie’s Cakes, where murder investigations are on the menu. You are most welcome, but you may need to serve yourself as our barista Kristie is busy trying to save the world.

Warning: Although there are plenty of moments that will make you shake your head and laugh at the antics of the ladies of Callie’s Cakes, the subject matter – rape on college campuses – is very real and somewhat darker than your usual cozy mystery.

Book excerpt:

I assumed that as soon as we got back to my apartment, everyone would take off and I’d be left alone to contemplate what happened. Contemplate. I snort to myself. Freak out’s more like it. Unfortunately, when I open the door and turn around to thank everyone, the men push their way in before sauntering over to my sofa and collapsing on it. My sofa, heck my apartment, was not made to house the two oversized detectives.

I don’t shut the door but stand at the entrance with my mouth opening and closing in my best imitation of a fish. Think, think, think. Oh yeah, I have the perfect excuse for keeping them out. “Should you be in here? Doesn’t CSI or whatever it’s called in real life need to do their thing? Find clues or fingerprints or something?” There! That sounded reasonable. Not at all like I’m trying to kick everyone out.

Logan snorts. “You watch too much TV.”

Luckily, Ben takes pity on me and explains. “They’ve already come and gone. And even if they hadn’t, it wouldn’t matter.” The confusion must show on my face. The big detective smiles. “We were all here this morning.” Duh. I nod my head in understanding but don’t move away from the door.

Anna sits on Logan’s lap and I cringe as my sofa creaks. “You might as well shut the door and come in here.” Oh great, the troublemaker is on the case. Looks like I don’t have a choice. I shut the door and walk the short distance to my living room. I collapse in the chair across from my friends and close my eyes. Let the questions begin.

“So why were you in that bar anyway? You don’t drink. Or at least the few times we’ve gone out, we nearly had to force-feed you beer.” Callie’s voice sounds genuinely hurt.

I shrug and try to evade giving away the real reason for my visit to the bar. “Am I not allowed to go to a bar on a Friday night?”

“That’s not what I meant and you know it,” Callie immediately snaps. Darn it! I suck at the secret spy mission stuff.

“Sorry, I’m not feeling well.” There, that’s not a lie.

“We just need you to answer a few questions and then we’ll leave you alone,” Ben insists in a gentle but firm voice. Obviously, I’m not getting out of answering some questions and considering I woke up naked next to a dead man, I should probably be grateful I’m getting grilled by my friends instead of cuddling up to some jailbird named Bertha.

Click the links to order:

amazon                                B&N                            smashwords                        kobo

Never Trust A Skinny Cupcake Baker (Death by Cupcake; series 1) by D.E.Haggerty

ntascb

A mystery with a heap of laughs, a generous portion of romance, and just a smidgeon of suspense. Callie’s life is rather awesome. She owns a successful bakery and teaches German literature at the local university. There’s just one tiny problem. She has no self-confidence when it comes to her body. And then there’s the little matter of her being accused of murdering her pole dancing instructor. There’s no way Callie’s going to risk losing her teaching position and thus she embarks, with her best baker bud Anna, on a journey to discover the real killer. Between stripper auditions and a detective who insists Callie is the woman of his dreams, it’s a roller coaster adventure. Cupcakes not included.

Top Customer Reviews

This is the first book I have read from this author but it certainly will not be the last. I loved the humor and funny back and forth banter between all the characters.

“Stressed spelled backwards in desserts. Coincidence? I think not.”

This is the story of Callie who owns Callie’s Cakes. Her best friend happens to be the baker at her shop. I loved the chemistry and relationship she had with her BFF, Anna. Callie has been crushing on Detective Hottie, a.k.a Ben. Ben has been after Callie for over a year but Callie has body issues and things it is a sympathy date because he is way out of her league. Callie is not skin and bones by any means but she doesn’t’ understand that Ben doesn’t want a stick he wants her. He sees all her inner beauty as well as the outer beauty she just doesn’t see.

“I’m no one’s ideal date. “I indicate my size fourteen body with a sweep of my hand. “I don’t want a pity date.”

This book is fast paced which is what I really like. I hate when an author spends four pages describing a room. Totally not necessary and was not done in this book. The book flowed really well and had a little bit of everything; Humor, romance and even suspense. I loved the author’s witty writing style and the fact that it wasn’t your typical romance book it had a suspense element to it. I devoured this book in one day as it had me hooked and I needed to know how it was going to end. If you are looking for a book that will have you laughing but sitting on the edge of your seat wondering what is going to happen next you might want to give this one a try.

4 Suspense-fully Funny Stars!

 

4-4.5 Stars
Haggerty whips up the perfect recipe for a cozy with a heap of laughs, a sweet and sexy romance, scrumptious characters, and a mystery to die for.
Bakery owner and college professor, Callie, isn’t the most self assured woman. She can’t even believe Detective Hottie could have any genuine interest in her, despite the fact that he’s been trying to go out with her for the last year! Having a boyfriend who was jerk and always criticizing her for her curves didn’t help either. Her best friend and business partner, Anna, decides to sign them up for a poll dancing class to help Callie feel sexy and confident. Too bad Dolly, the poll instructor, is just as bad as Callie’s ex. Dolly’s torment only pushes Callie to stick with it! Unfortunately for Dolly, Callie’s not the only one with a point to prove. Dolly is found murdered and all the evidence points to Callie. With her teaching position on the line, Callie and Anna, with some help from Ben aka Detective Hottie, set out to prove Callie’s innocence.
Callie was such a fabulous female lead. She was intelligent, hardworking, driven, and vulnerable. It was hard to watch her be so down on herself though. She was so confident in so many other aspects of her life but when it came to her body image, she was extremely uncomfortable. She didn’t go through any instant or drastic changes throughout the story, her changes were more subtle. It made her feel more relatable and realistic. In addition to Callie, Haggerty adds in spitfire Anna, swoonworthy Ben, and anger inducing Dolly. It was a great cast of characters.
The fast paced storyline and intriguing mystery grabbed my attention and held it throughout. She had Callie and Anna uncover clues bit by bit in the most hilarious and clever ways. Haggerty’s wit and humor were captivating. I laughed from start to finish. I also enjoyed the romantic aspect of the story. It helped to illustrate growth in Callie as well as gave a new dimension to the story. I can’t wait to see where things go between those two.
This is the second book I’ve read from DE Haggerty and I thoroughly enjoy her stories. I’m excited that this is the start of a new series and eager to read more of the Death by Cupcake series.

Click the links to order:

amazon                             smashwords                      B&N                                         kobo

Bring Your Own Baker (Death by Cupcake; series 2) by D.E.Haggerty

byobcv

Anna just wants to earn enough money on the side to buy into the bakery, Callie’s Cakes, where she works together with her best nerd pal Callie. The last thing she expects to see when she walks into Arthur’s apartment to do some moonlighting is a blood bath. Callie’s ready to jump into the investigation into Arthur’s murder, and she’s bringing another bakery worker, Kristie, into their hijinks whether Kristie wants to or not. But things aren’t as they seem. There are gang affiliations, illegal gambling dens, and ladies of the night to wade through. Will Anna and Callie discover who murdered Arthur or will Callie’s detective boyfriend and Anna’s self-appointed protector put a stop to such aspirations?

Come join us at Callie’s Cakes, where murder investigations are on the menu, but make sure to bring your own baker, because Anna’s a bit preoccupied at the moment.

Warning: This is NOT your mom’s cozy mystery. Bring Your Own Baker may be a ‘clean’ read, but if gangs, illegal gambling, and pimps make you turn your nose up at your e-reader, you might want to skip this one. Although you’ll be missing some sizzling chemistry between Anna and her protector. Not to mention a whole bunch of witty dialogue.

Top Customer Reviews

This is a great book; this is the second book in the Death by Cupcake series written by D. E. Haggerty. Anna just wants to earn enough money on the side to buy into the bakery, Callie’s Cakes, where she works together with her best nerd pal Callie. The last thing she expects to see when she walks into Arthur’s apartment to do some moonlighting is a blood bath. Callie’s ready to jump into the investigation into Arthur’s murder, and she’s bringing another bakery worker, Kristie, into their hijinks whether Kristie wants to or not.This is a great book with a wonderful story and well developed characters. This book will keep you reading long into the night. If you are looking for a great book, then you need to read this book. I am looking forward to reading the next book by this great author.

 

In Bring Your Own Baker, the second book in the Death By Cupcake Series, author D.E. Haggerty weaves a delightful cozy mystery that follows the amateur investigative adventures of baker Anna Moore.

Anna is a sassy little pixie with spiky pink hair, who works as a baker at her best friend Callie’s bakery, Callie’s Cakes. She has been working on the side doing finance and invoicing for her friend Arthur, a genius computer programmer / hacker, in order to get enough money together to buy into fifty percent of the bakery. When Anna goes to Arthur’s apartment, she finds his door ajar and he is lying on the floor dead with his face covered in blood. Anna is determined to find Arthur’s killer, so with the help of Callie, Ben (Callie’s detective boyfriend), co-worker Kristie, and a hot undercover cop named Logan, Anna embarks on a murder investigation adventure to find the real killer.

Bring Your Own Baker is a thoroughly entertaining cozy mystery that will keep the reader in stitches. Written in the first person narrative, the reader follows the humorous trials and tribulations of Anna and friends latest amateur investigative adventures.

This was such a fun book to read! The reader can’t help but get drawn into the quirky trials and tribulations and intriguing suspense that Anna and friends encounter during the murder investigation. I really enjoyed Anna’s sassy humor and wit, she makes following her madcap adventure so much fun, and when you add in some romance with the hot undercover cop Logan into the mix, you get a delightful cozy mystery that will leave you wanting more!

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that I really loved how the author used very clever and intriguing step-by-step recipe ingredients to solving a mystery quotes at the beginning of each chapter.

Cozy mystery fans, I would highly recommend that you read the entertaining Death By Cupcake Series, you won’t regret it!

Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review.

 

It’s adorable, it’s funny and it has a mysterious bearded man who just happens to make that look work for him (which is not easy). Add to that a murder, some far from legal actions and some delicious cooking and you’ve got another great book from D.E. Haggerty.

This time, we’re following Anna – the little pixie baker from Callie’s Cakes. She’s working her ass off to get enough money to buy into the bakery. The problem is her employee and friend just got murdered. Will she follow in Callie’s footsteps and help to solve the murder?

And who is this creepy, yet somehow hot mysterious guy who keeps sneaking into Anna’s house? Is he really a gang member? Will he kill her if she’ll get too close to solving the mystery?

I had a fantastic time reading this book – plenty of funny situations, some witty humor, and an interesting mystery waiting to be solved. And the characters! Well, I admit Callie might’ve annoyed me just a tiny bit in this one, but I still like her and the others are fantastic!

Yet again I have to write a word about the chapter titles – even these fit into the stories. I loved the ones from the first book – the cute quotes about sweets, etc. The new ones create a kind of a recipe – a step by step instructions to create and solve a great cozy mystery. Love it!

At the beginning of the book I wondered what new characters will we meet, since the other books always have a different main character solving the mystery. For now, we only had Callie and Anna [I’m not counting Ben, he was kind of a plus-one], so I was quite happy to see another member of their little group – Kristie. I can’t wait to read about her adventuring into the danger zone. And she does have a danger zone to go into working in a place like that.

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Click the links to order:

amazon                   smashwords                             B&N                             kobo

About the Author: D.E.Haggerty

author-photo-2016

I grew up reading everything I could get my hands on from my mom’s Harlequin romances to Nancy Drew to Little Women. When I wasn’t flipping pages in a library book, I was penning horrendous poems, writing songs no one should ever sing, or drafting stories which have thankfully been destroyed. College and a stint in the U.S. Army came along, robbing me of free time to write and read, although I did manage, every once in a while, to sneak a book into my rucksack between rolled up socks, MRIs, t-shirts, and cold weather gear. After surviving the army experience, I went back to school and got my law degree. I jumped ship and joined the hubby in the Netherlands before the graduation ceremony could even begin. A few years into my legal career, I was exhausted, fed up, and just plain done. I quit my job and sat down to write a manuscript, which I promptly hid in the attic after returning to the law. But being a lawyer really wasn’t my thing, so I quit (again!) and went off to Germany to start a B&B. Turns out being a B&B owner wasn’t my thing either. I decided to follow the husband to Istanbul for a few years where I managed to churn out book after book. But ten years was too many to stay away from ‘home’. I packed up again and moved to The Hague where I’m currently working on my next book. I hope I’ll always be working on my next book.

Find out more about D.E.Haggerty click on here links below.

D.E.Haggerty’s Website click here

D.E.Haggerty’s Blog click here

Follow on Facebook click here

Follow on Twitter click here

Google+ click here

Pinterest click here

Goodreads authors page click here

Amazon author page click here

 

2 thoughts on “Authors Spotlight: D.E.Haggerty

Leave a Reply

