Authors Spotlight: Chantal Bellehumeur

Past Lives by Chantal Bellehumeur

book-cover-front

Have you ever had a dream that is so vivid that it feels real; so real, that when you wake up from that dream you’re confused about your surroundings and wonder what’s going on?
  Shortly after being jolted awake and orienting herself, the dreams (more like nightmares most of the time) always start to feel like faint memories to Sandra; not a memory of the dreams themselves, but of her own life.
  The dreams all being set in different time periods when she wasn’t even born yet, Sandra wonders if they could be memories of her past lives.
  Travel through many dark times of England, from the medieval era to Victorian days, as well as Canada during both World Wars.
  In this fictional story, you will learn a bit of history along with the different human and ghost lives Sandra is sure she had.
This fictional historical/paranormal book which received several positive reviews so far is available to purchase on Amazon as a paperback or kindle.

Top Customer Reveiws

on October 8, 2016

I received an ARC copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I’ve read several novels by Chantal Bellehumeur before but I have to say this is her masterpiece. Past Lives tells the incredible story of the author’s own past. I strongly believe in reincarnation and have felt those ‘I’ve experienced this before, I know this place’ moments quite often so when I started to read Bellehumeur’s story imagine my joy! In her prologue she says she’s been shy to talk about her dreams and feelings out of fear what the others might think about her. I can so relate her! In this modern world too many people have forgotten the past and the beliefs that used to be everyday cake to everyone, and even though they might secretly share her thoughts they might belittle it in front of the others and make the person believing in reincarnation feel like a fool.

The story begins in late 1400s London, throwing the author’s life in London’s developing city life during the next 500 years or so before taking her to Canada where she still lives.

Interesting doesn’t even begin to describe this story, this is so much more. A wonderful journey through time that reminds us that we are not just we, but a part of something bigger, older line. That history lives in us as well as we might have been living in it. For me this was an excellent read and I can highly recommend it!

on October 7, 2016
What a delightful book. When I started the book, I really had no idea what was going on. But it really pulls you in. The past lives of the main character are well threshed out and have their own personality. And the plotlines for each story are very different and interesting. The author must have done a lot of research before writing this book. I think the best part is that it is completely believable. That’s how well-written the stories are.
Each time period has so much information about the goings on during that time and gives you a kind of coming down through history kind of feel. I enjoyed the book thoroughly and would recommend it.
on October 21, 2016
This was a hard one to put down. It drew me in and kept me reading. The style of writing makes it very difficult to keep in mind it is a novel. And the detail helped keep the sense of reality going. The author did a fantastic job with the whole premises. Excellent read.

Authors Comments

I had a lot of fun writing this book and learned several things along the way as well.
  The research I did to include historical facts involved many hours of browsing on the Internet and collecting data from various websites.
  Although the main idea for the book came to me while I was on sick leave and trying to keep myself entertained as well as productive, most of this story was inspired by the memories of a trip I took to London, England back in 2007.
  During my stay, I visited the London Dungeon which displayed the past horrors of the city, the Clink Prison Museum located on the original site of the old prison, as well as the Tour of London. I also saw a Shakespearian play in the rebuilt Globe Theatre. It all came back to me in a flash.
  I remembered walking around the city at night with an odd sense of nostalgia, and once hearing the sound of horse hooves hitting the ground. This was quickly followed by me asking my best friend where the horse drawn carriages were. I was confused when she told me there were none in London anymore. I mean, I knew they were no longer a common means of transportation, but I thought there would be a few around for tourism like they do in Old Montreal. Sarah told me it was not the case, and that she did not hear the horse hooves like I did. At the time I thought I either had a big imagination, or perhaps I was recalling something from another life…
  In addition to my previous trip to London, I had the opportunity to attend a big medieval festival and banquet in Lanaudiere, Quebec during the summer of 2016, shortly after completing a good draft of my book. My experience helped me embellish a few things in the first chapter.

About The  Author: Chantal Bellehumeur

chantal

Chantal Bellehumeur is a multi-genre author with 14 published book titles. Some of her short stories as well as a few of her poems were featured in compilation books, anthologies, and magazines. She also wrote a couple of articles.

 

One thought on “Authors Spotlight: Chantal Bellehumeur

Leave a Reply

