Authors Spotlight: Jack Kearney.

Inside out by Jack Kearney.

1insideout_jackkearney

My experience as an actor in the late seventies inspired me to write a script in the mid-eighties that led me to write this book in 2013. There has never been a story line where the protagonist, a non criminal is thrown into prison where he already knows some of the inmates.

Inside Out weaves together an engrossing story of a young actor who, after volunteering for a unique project to teach drama to inmates of the local medium-security prison,months later finds himself locked in a cell as a convict. Where he now has already made friends and unforgiving enemies. It introduces the reader to multitude of characters. Some are good, some are bad, and a few are just evil. It is a fictional account of what happens to an “Everyman” that gets caught up in a system deliberately designed to treat all felons the same.

Utilizing a groundbreaking format, Follow Danny Belson as he goes from a care free beach volleyball loving, pool shooting, actor, who’s only worry is knowing when his next audition will come, to a convicted murderer. Written using flashbacks, with no chapters, learn what a struggling actor goes through, and how, after his incarceration, Danny’s life is turned INSIDE OUT.

For Goodreads click here

Amazon Kindle click here

Amazon ebooks click here

Barnes and Noble click here

Top Customer Reviews.

Format: Paperback

It took me a long time to read this book. Not because it’s particularly long or difficult to read, it isn’t that. It took me a while because I wanted to savour it, to enjoy every page and every scene slowly. After all, isn’t delaying gratification much more fun? And with a protaganist like Danny Belson, the wanna be actor who finds himself living a nightmare in prison, you want to take the time to get to know him. To understand him; and to develop a love hate relationship with a man you will want to root for and scream at in equal measure. ‘Inside Out’ has no chapters, no titles or numbers to seperate the events. But then, neither does life. Instead, the book simply flows for event to event, from day to day uninterrupted. Just like life. This book is not for the squemish, Jack Kearney pulls no punches in describing the brutal way the prison inmates treat each other, paying off the guards to look the other way. (The character ‘Gigolo’ is the stuff of nightmares, as are his prison cronies). But it’s worth exposing yourself to that brutality to discover that literature doesn’t have to conform to specific rules, just like life. Having no chapters is a bold and wonderful risk, as is ending the book that way. What way? No, I’m not giving that away. You need to see for yourself. If you only read one book this year, make it this one. I should add that I received a review copy of this book.

 

By Dii on 24 Nov. 2015

Format: Paperback

The System. Justice being meted out, the guilty are convicted and the innocent go free, right? No matter how hard we try, the system often fails or is tainted by backstage machinations. For young actor, Danny Belson, that failure would forever change one easy-going young man into a convicted murderer, a prison inmate and a man who would always think twice before trusting anyone.

It all happened the night the woman dashed out in front him and he could not avoid hitting her and he discovered that the truth won’t always set you free. Manipulated by a powerful politician’s lies, Danny begins his new life, as an inmate, the newbie, the one who will be tested, and judged again, by new peers, his fellow inmates.

Brutalized, beaten nearly to death and still incarcerated for a crime he did not commit, his few allies stand by him as the transformation from young and innocent to deadly and vindictive begins. Will he ever trust anyone completely again? Must he become the type of animal that is feared when he walks by? Has he become what he was convicted of? Is it too late for his appeal to bring him back from the darkness he has been engulfed in?

Gritty, dark and far too easily imagined, Jack Kearney’s Inside Out is a riveting tale of how the system fails to save the soul of one young man and may have created the monster he was accused of being. Told from Danny’s point of view, Inside Out is raw and emotionally brutal as we witness the fear, the bravado and the devastating turmoil of a man who has only his acting skills to keep him together.

Mr. Kearney’s style is forceful, as he pens a coarse view of life in prison with bold strokes and from the gut creativity. If you are looking for a dramatic read that pulls no punches and fearlessly exposes every wart and blemish of life; this is one to read, for sure. From start to finish, totally magnetic.

I received this copy from Jack Kearney in exchange for my honest review.

 

Format: Kindle Edition

I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.
Let me start with the cover. This was a refreshing change from your run of the mill cover and appeared almost 3D, it kind of encapsulated the story.
For me I found I was immediately drawn into the story, an actor wrongly accused finds his self living the horrors of prison life for real rather than acting them. I would think to myself I shall read just one more page and then……..but then it was one more and another one and then I was shocked to find the book done and the afternoon gone.
An excellent read….all hail Mr Kearney.

About the Author: Jack Kearney.

jack kearny

For most of my life I was a struggling actor. I appeared on such shows as Mash, WKRP in Cincinnati, and General Hospital. For a short time, I even taught an acting workshop. Back in the mid-seventies I was a recent graduate of the very prestigious American Academy of Dramatic Arts where I was part of the first graduating class in Los Angeles. After that I joined the ranks of the other sixty thousand would-be stars who acted in showcase plays, occasionally going on professional auditions, and attending weekly workshops. Waiting for that big break I had many survival jobs typical of the actors of the ’70s and ’80s. But sales seemed to offer the only possible way to make a living and contrary to popular belief, I discovered that a salesperson is made not born. In fact, commissioned sales can be almost as frustrating as breaking into show business. I am currently working out of my home, on commission.  I have been married twice. My first, which ended in divorce gave me my beautiful daughter Shannon. I lost my second wife of ten years to cancer in 2012. Now 64, I currently reside in Northern California with my Yorkie-Poo Toby.

To follow on Twitter click here

Like on FaceBook click here

Inside out on FaceBook

watch on Utube click here

 

One thought on “Authors Spotlight: Jack Kearney.

Leave a Reply

